If you deactivate a catalog item it doesn’t clear out the open inventory items. Any inventory that’s work in progress (including back-ordered) would still be showing up on the screens. Once the inventory is voided or sold it will be hidden. The purpose of inactive is to prevent you from creating new records based on that item, not clearing out work in progress.
Fix: We need to provide a dialogue to the user explaining what will happen if they continue to deactivate a catalog item tied to active inventory and likely force them to confirm